The League of Women Voters is proudly nonpartisan, neither supporting nor opposing candidates or political parties at any level of government.

Press Release » League re-elects Brigham and executive committee

League re-elects Brigham and executive committee

NAPLES, Fla. – LWV of Florida President Patricia Brigham was re-elected for another two year term as president over the weekend at the League’s 37th biennial Convention in Naples. Brigham was previously appointed to her position after the resignation of Pamela Goodman.

“It is an honor to be entrusted by our thousands of members with the leadership of this storied organization. The 2020 general election promises to have one of the highest, if not the highest turnout ever. It is the League’s duty to empower the voters of Florida to have the confidence to participate in our democracy, and we are definitely up to that challenge.” Brigham said.

“It is only fitting that 2020 also commemorates 100 years of the 19th Amendment and the League of Women Voters. The power of women to create a more perfect democracy has never been more apparent than now, with women of all political beliefs running for office and winning at record levels.” Brigham added.

The League’s executive committee was also elected, with Cecile M. Scoon, Esq. as First Vice President, Shawn Bartelt as Second Vice President, Mark Songer as Treasurer, and Lisa Hall as Secretary.


The League of Women Voters of Florida encourages informed and active participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences public policy through education and advocacy. The League of Women Voters of Florida Education Fund works to register voters, provide voters with election information through voter guides as well as candidate forums and debates.


latest post